wing’n it.

Zaycon Foods chicken wingsI hadn’t ever had a hot wing until I met my husband and now I’ve had my share of them. I love a good hot wing, but I’ve not ventured far from the typical buffalo sauce. It wasn’t until recently that I’ve even dared try to make them myself.

I was able to get a sample of the wings Zaycon is delivering in June. I experimented with them, tried baking (ick) and then browning and baking but they just weren’t coming out crunchy on the outside. So lightly coating the outside in flour and frying them up the old fashioned way seems to be the best option. Now once you have cooking your wings down, you’ve got to have a good stick-to-your-wings sauce, and this is a super easy recipe that can be made with ingredients you probably already have in your cupboard.

Zaycon Foods wing sauceBrown sugar, Franks hot sauce, garlic salt and a little worcestershire sauce. I don’t measure the ingredients when making this. But I would guess that you use double the brown sugar to your hot sauce. So we will go with 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup of Franks hot sauce. Then about a teaspoon of garlic salt and a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce. The trick to this is to heat it up in a pan on the stove until its warm and the flavors melt together, but don’t boil it. You can add more sugar or hot sauce as you like yours to taste. This particular sauce came out sweet and not too hot or spicy.  DSC_0736 copy copyIts a bit thick and a really nice dark caramel color. My girls love this sauce and like to dip their chicken rather than me coat the wing. It can be sticky. Zaycon Foods wing sauce

It coats the wings well and we had leftover sauce to use this weekend for our BBQ with family. Zaycon Foods chicken wings

 

Leave a Reply

